[On this, the 13th anniversary of 2008’s Blackout Game, we’re running two features devoted to it — and with the White Sox’s recent announcement that all 2021 home playoff games will be “blacked out,” the timing couldn’t be better. Enjoy!]

It had been 13 years since the last time the Chicago White Sox were American League Central Division Champions.

A lot has changed since 2008 — in baseball, the White Sox, and in the world.

Let’s take a quick look back at the state of the world the last time the White Sox were AL Central champs.

Major League Baseball

  • Instant replay was introduced for the first time in 2008, but challenges would not emerge for another several years
  • The Houston Astros were a National League team
  • No wild card games
  • No players on the 2021 White Sox had made their major league debut
  • The Chicago Cubs “curse” reached its 100th year
  • The Minnesota Twins played at the Metrodome
  • Shea Stadium and Old Yankee Stadium were in their final seasons
  • Mike Mussina and Greg Maddux were pitching in their final seasons

Other Sports

  • The Chicago Bulls made Derrick Rose the first overall pick in the NBA draft
  • The Thunder were playing in their first season in Oklahoma City after ducking out of Seattle
  • The New York Giants spoiled the New England Patriots’ unbeaten season in February’s Super Bowl
  • The Detroit Lions went 0-16
  • Aaron Rodgers made his first NFL start
  • The Summer Olympics took place in Beijing
  • Oklahoma quarterback Sam Bradford was…

Read more…